The Great and not so great!

The great turned out not so great! As far as getting a response. It was Stephen Fry, among others, I choose to follow and send a tweet! I guess when  you have 3,118,884 Followers it is impossible to react to all the tweets your followers sent you. Unless you have special team that answers all those tweets for you, like some companies do. But that is not the case here, as far as I know.

It does mean that interaction with your audience is going to be limited. Mostly like a one way street, with the celebrity pushing his messages onto his audience . It would have to be a pretty special tweet to get a reaction from him/her, often in the form of a retweet! I did find one recent retweet where he did that and coincidentally, it was about an organisation which my group will use for our group assignment: This is the tweet in question: “Staircase2Sep 20, 7:42pm via Web

@stephenfry RT URGENT Amnesty International campaign to save #TroyDavisfrom execution tomorrow PLEASE SIGN NOWbit.ly/oDozSc

Retweeted by stephenfry

Now, the not so famous, micro celebrity “Marja Ruiterman” (coach among others @ the VU for the stop procrastinating and postponing everything course). She has only 824 Followers and is therefore able to interact in a much more sincere and direct way!

It was a couple of monhts ago when I became a bit more active on twitter, that I started following her. Before that, she had been only a distant memory of a course I once took. But the strange thing is that she immediately interacted and after a short explanation who I was, that she actually remembered me from the above mentioned course that I did with her. She engaged me on a personal level. Therefore she is for me the greater person, even if she doesn’t have as many followers as Stephen Fry or Alexander Pechthold who has 97,487 Followers.

I think for twitter it is the same like the study that was presented in class regarding Facebook friends, the more you have the more shallow or superficial the contact is going to be. There is a certain threshold of followers on twitter after which you can no longer engage your followers personally.  I also noticed that celebrities regularly seem to tweet for tweet’s sake and not because they have something interesting at that time to share with the world. This, I saw rarely while following my micro celebrity ‘Marja Ruiterman”.  Her tweets and retweets more often than not, mattered and were less of a self-glorificational nature than those of  Mr. Fry and Alexander Pechthold.

Before and After following Marja, Stephen and Alexander on twitter; before following them on twitter, Marja was just a distant memory and Stephen and Alexander were pretty much 1 or at best 2 dimensional characters I sometimes saw on TV or read about in the newspaper or magazines.  After following Marja on twitter, she became for a little bit, part of my live, as she engaged me in her tweets, showed me what she was doing and what was keeping her busy and interested. In this respect twitter added something where otherwise I might never have thought about her again. For the 2 celebrities Alexander and Stephen I can’t say following them really added something; I didn’t gain a deeper insight in their lives and interests that I would not have gotten through the traditional media channels, other than to say I got it sooner via twitter. But as they did not engage me on a personal level, I found their tweets less interesting and am reconsidering if I should keep following them in the future.

Last but not least I should say that I didn’t put any special effort in contacting my ‘micro’ and real celebrities. For Marja I drew on tweets we exchanged in the last few moths, mostly via DM and the tweets she publicly sent with her latest project or interesting insight she came across. Both Alexander and Stephen I sent a reaction to a recent tweet they had sent out last Tuesday and never heard back from them.

So that’s it for now,

Erik V.*

2 Comments on “The Great and not so great!”

  1. Nice writings! Great idea to follow Stephen Fry as I love his TV shows/books. Can you say anything more about his posts? is he as funny as he is on tv, or just boring? As some sort of comedian I kind of would expect him to be hilarious on Twitter…

  2. hvk600 says:

    @bibibrightside

    Thank your for commenting Bibi!

    Below you find a overview of some of Stephen Fry´s ´tweetings´:

    21 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    A rather exciting Twitter campaign by @Soc_of_Authors against the BBC short story cuts bit.ly/soatales #WriterWednesday #soatale
    21 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    @
    @terryabi Like “Satan oscillate my metallic sonatas” #palindromes
    20 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    @
    @MrFaramarzi Although it didn’t teach you that it’s actually The Picture of Dorian Gray? Sorry, couldn’t resist… 😉
    20 sep
    Stephe Meloy
    Staircase2 Stephe Meloy
    door stephenfry
    @stephenfry RT URGENT Amnesty International campaign to save #TroyDavis from execution tomorrow PLEASE SIGN NOW bit.ly/oDozSc
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    Heavens that was exhausting. I don’t much like ppl hitting each other, but the levels of fitness balance and skill…hanging up my gloves now
    20 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    Oh my arse and whiskers. First I had to assemble a flat pack computer desk for a TV programme. Next comes the boxing. Why do I say “yes”?
    20 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    I’ve got to go boxing in a gym today. Not looking forward to it 1 bit. Never stepped into a boxing-ring in my life. Bound to be humiliating
    20 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    Your Cat magazine is hosting a ‘Your Cat Tucker Trial’, eating cat food to raise money for Tigertime. Sponsor them at goo.gl/oYZso
    20 sep
    Stephen Fry
    stephenfry Stephen Fry
    @
    @thedogg13quid No monkeys. You’ve misunderstood. DNA (which Darwin had no knowledge of) utterly proves how right he was. We’re primates.
    20 sep

    Without the proper context, which is a bit hard to find on twitter, I found it hard to find the humor in Mr Fry´s tweets. When checking better I did see that some tweets by him were probably intended to be humorous, but it wasn´t obvious at 1st glance at least to me.


Leave a Reply

