(Anti)social media?

The past couple of weeks following the Social Media course actually haven’t been very different from my “normal” social media use. I used Twitter and Facebook heavily before the course and will continue to do so after. My views on and usage of those two I think hasn’t changed a whole lot. One of the most important things I learned during the course and via the use of these media is that their influence on people (including myself) and everyday life nowadays is enormous.

The way I feel about social media is kind of a love-hate relationship. I love it because it keeps me updated on all the stuff that’s going on with my friends, family, brands, celebrities or even politics. I hate it because it’s kind of becoming a compulsion for me to check on social media. I’ll check up on Twitter and Facebook updates way too much during the day and when I’m bored it’s even more. I’ll use my phone as well as my computer vigorously to do this. All of this, I believe, stands in the way of our everyday face to face communications. But besides that, social media is still a huge thing and opens up opportunities for all kinds of branches like marketing, protests or just plain and simple contact.

Besides my Twitter and Facebook addiction we had to sign up for some other social network services. This included signing up for Google+. I wrote this before but I’ll do it again: I don’t see the added value over Facebook. Google did have something on Facebook with the circles, but the way it was brought to the public all Facebook had to do was wait and see. To jump in at the right moment and shamelessly copy the one original idea and then improve on that as well. Also, the website itself isn’t very aesthetically pleasing. Those are basically the reasons why I’m not going to be using Google+ anymore in the future.

4 Comments on “(Anti)social media?”

  1. carinaprudondecastro says:

    Leuk plaatje heb je erbij gedaan. Ik ben het ook wel met je eens over je haat-liefde relatie met social media… Voor mij geldt hetzelfde, ik check facebook en twitter waaay to much.. Zelfs ik vind het op een gegeven moment irritant. Alsof we allemaal niet meer zonder kunnen.
    En nu met de Blackberry storing van gister en vandaag ben ik even social media-vrij. Haha (alsof ik niet op me laptop op FB en twitter zit… ssst)

  2. fvk2010 says:

    Ja mooi plaatje! Al plaats ik zelf een brief misschien nog wel boven een video chat omdat je een brief toch echt vast kan houden en er bovendien een handschrift van de schrijver (en een schrijfstijl) bijzit die het heel authentiek maken. Daardoor voelt het veel mooier om een brief te krijgen van iemand dan met diegene te Skypen.
    Desalniettemin is een video chat natuurlijk wel praktischer 😉

  3. nickytantoe says:

    Ik kan mezelf ook vinden in je visie over facebookgebruik. Juist omdat het zo makkelijk is om even snel te checken, ben je bij elke vrije seconden geneigd je mobiel te pakken om even snel te checken, ook al weet je zelf niet eens waarom.

  4. Mannie says:

    Ik had precies hetzelfde idee als jij. Mijn gebruik is ook niet toegenomen maar ik ben me wel bewust geworden van de invloed op onze leventjes!


Leave a Reply

